Doggerel

In my waking nightmare
time flows in a backward stream

slices around my hollow torso

forks between my trembling legs

drags the bed of my restless mind

dredging up memories like rocks

Recalling them runs me through
like little biting blades
so far behind me now

things I’d never dared wish for

already here and gone, never to return

greed for lost things scrapes away at my insides

No one cares to remember them

prefers them erased from the ledger

so: I do not turn my head

if I’m to be forever alone
hollowed out by lonely hope

mine stands as the only record

2 thoughts on “Doggerel

Leave a Reply

